Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

A new lens or a new flash?

Hi! I recently bought the EOS 40D Camera with EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM lens kit. I'm still new to photography, especially with this digital SLR.

What do you suggest should be my next purchase? A new lens or a new flash. I want to get the EF 50mm f/1.4 USM lens and the Canon Speedlite 430EX II Flash, but can't afford both right now. It's one or the other. Which one would you recommend?

Thanks,
    K

Re: A new lens or a new flash?

You would probably get more mileage out of the flash right now. Choosing lenses is generally based on the type of shooting you want to do. For sports, you need long fast (ie f2.8 etc.) lenses and for many other types of shots less expensive glass may be appropriate.
    Daniel - PixElite Photography

http://www.pixelitephotography.com
    http://www.actionphototips.com
    http://www.maxpreps.com
    I use Nikon Professional gear.

If you're really really into doing photos in low light then that might be a reason to choose the 50mm f1.4 although there are other things to consider:

- the 50mm f1.8 is much cheaper and almost as good
    - the IS on your 17-85 allows you to do photos in low light as well (as long as the subject isn't moving too fast
    - I don't understand why so many people buy a 50mm. On film it was the standard lens and it was useful, on APS-C sensors it's a weak telephoto and not a focal length I use very much