Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: New to Digital

Smile New to Digital

Hi All,
    I am new to Photography and have jumped in at the deep end by buying a Canon EOS 350D.

I would appreciate it if some one could recomend any good books on digital photography to get me started on the best way to take advantage of the features found on DSLR's and photography in general.

Many thanks in advance
    Nige
    Last edited by Velocity; 02-10-2006 at 01:29 AM.

Can't really help

Quote Originally Posted by Velocity
    Hi All,
    I am new to Photography and have jumped in at the deep end by buying a Canon EOS 350D.

I would appreciate it if some one could recomend any good books on digital photography to get me started on the best way to take advantage of the features found on DSLR's and photography in general.

Many thanks in advance
    Nige
    Humm, no answers after 24 hours? I can't really help you as I shoot Nikon and I live in France. Let me just suggest that when you write on this predominantly American site, you put on your best Texas accent and you say "I just bought a Rebel XT.." which is the name for your camera in the States.

The first book you should buy is one dedicated to your camera. Finally it may not tell you more than the instruction manual but it will take three times as long in doing it with more examples.

The next book you should buy is one dedicated to your editing software (Photoshop etc) . You'll find that you will need to treat quite a lot of your images to make them look right. You can do a lot in software but the difficult thing is to understand what you can actually do.