Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

New to D-SLR's Have a question......

I'm new to SLR's but I'm not new to digital camera's and photography. My questions is I've been eyeing a couple of models and I need help to determine which one I should purchase.

I was thinking of either:

Canon rebel XT or XTI

Nikon D40x

Olympus E-410

Which one do any of you think would be the better buy. I plan to focus more on macros and scenery shots. (with some sports shots thrown in). And also would any of these be good for local newspaper print? Any help would be appreciated.....thanks.

Re: New to D-SLR's Have a question......

Personally, I just went through the same process. After TONS of research, I decided the Rebel XTi was the best one for me. Here's why:

Olympus uses a smaller sensor which, for your macro shots would be helpful (I think). However, all the tests I read showed it lacked enough dynamic range (bright and dark in the same scene) which was the deal breaker for me - you need that for the scenery shots in particular.

The Nikon is a nice piece, and I like that they use SD. However, because there is no focus motor in the body, your lens selection is limited (unless you want to manual focus them). That was the deal breaker for me, as I wanted a highly flexible system that could use whichever lenses I chose. However, there are more lenses coming out for the new Nikons by the day, so don't let my opinion on that make you think there aren't any out there - there are - just not as many as Canon.