Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Buying a Rebel

Buying a Rebel

Hello,

In the next few weeks i plan to buy a digital rebel, and i want to know what things to check to ensure the camera is ok, and don't get any suprises later. Could you give me any advice? Thank you.

Freelance Photographer meeksdigital's Avatar

Re: Buying a Rebel

will you be buying the new rebel 350/XT or the older 6.3 megapixel digital rebel?
    Trevor Meeks
    MeeksDigital Photography
    http://www.meeksdigital.com

Flying is not inherently dangerous, but terribly unforgiving of any mistakes, neglect or inattention to detail

The 300D, the "old" one.

Oh, just to give more data: i'm new to digital photography, but not to SLRs.

can i ask why you are getting the older rebel? you can get the new 8 megapixel rebel for like 200 bucks more now. its well worth it.
    Trevor Meeks
    MeeksDigital Photography

Flying is not inherently dangerous, but terribly unforgiving of any mistakes, neglect or inattention to detail

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Norfindel
    Hello,

In the next few weeks i plan to buy a digital rebel, and i want to know what things to check to ensure the camera is ok, and don't get any suprises later. Could you give me any advice? Thank you.
    There are those people who spend their time doing all sorts of "tests" looking for problems. My suggestion is to just take lots of photos. If you don't see a problem, it doesn't exist!
    "Every great decision creates ripples--like a huge boulder dropped in a lake. The ripples merge and rebound off the banks in unforseeable ways.