Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Looking for a good Macro lens

Hey everyone. I'm looking for a good macro lens for my Canon 20D. I'm an amateur so I'm not looking for a top-of-the-line, expensive lens. I saw an article in outdoor photographer that mentioned two lenses that are TRULY macro. One is a Canon (expensive!!!) and the other is the Tamron AF70-300mm ƒ/4-5.6 LD macro zoom. I checked the price and it's very cheap (which worries me quality-wise) so I'm looking into that lens. Does anyone have any suggestions? Anyone with experience with this lens? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Poster Formerly Known as Michael Fanelli mwfanelli's Avatar

Re: Looking for a good Macro lens

Quote Originally Posted by MAADVP
    Hey everyone. I'm looking for a good macro lens for my Canon 20D. I'm an amateur so I'm not looking for a top-of-the-line, expensive lens. I saw an article in outdoor photographer that mentioned two lenses that are TRULY macro. One is a Canon (expensive!!!) and the other is the Tamron AF70-300mm ƒ/4-5.6 LD macro zoom. I checked the price and it's very cheap (which worries me quality-wise) so I'm looking into that lens. Does anyone have any suggestions? Anyone with experience with this lens? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Are you looking for a macros lens or a zoom with close-up capability? I have a Tamron 90mm macro that is excellent. Image quality equals the Canon but the focus speed is slower. You'll be manually focusing macro anyway.

Macro lenses are nice because they not only get up close but have a larger aperture and a flat field design. Zooms with "macro" can get close up but are slower lenses and have the standard curved field.