Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Lens Question for novice

I'm basically a novice when it comes to SLR photography. I had a SLR many years ago (lost it in a divorce) and somewhat know the basics about shutter speed and aperture size. I've been using a Canon G2 since it came out and am now moving to a Canon XTi.

I'm thinking of zoom a lens for a future purchase for this camera.

My question is about the relationship of the zoom nomenclature of the point & shoot camera ie; 3x, 4x etc to the SLR lens of mm ie; 50mm, 130mm, 200mm etc.

Is there a table where I can see the relationship of the power (2x, 3x, 4x etc.) of the point & shoot lens to the mm of a SLR lens?

I understand that the XTi has a 1.6 something about it's sensor??? Will that need to be factored in to that table?

Thanks in advance,
    Crockett

Re: Lens Question for novice

Crockett, I'm no expert either but about the 1.6 question,basically the sensor which in a digital camera acts as the 35mm frame in a film camera, but the sensor in for example, your XTi is smaller than a frame of 35mm film. This difference changes the focal length of a given lens by a factor of (in the XTi case,1.6) take a 50mm lens attach it your XTi and its focal length is now 80mm or 1.6x50mm=80mm
    What all this means in the real world is you must do some calculations before you buy a zoom. Example,24-70mm zoom on your RebelXTi will be something like 38-112mm
    combination,not as wide but a little further in reach.
    I,m sure knowing this bunch ,you will get a better lesson very shortly from someone who is an expert,thats the great thing about this group,they all come in with earnest accurate advise