Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
    trailguy

Justify a full frame

I suppose this has been asked and answered a hundred times, so I suppose this will be #101. I've been using a Canon 40D for 5 yrs, with good lenses, and have taken some winning shots, with detail, color about as good as one could see. Not to brag here, but to ask opinions of just what benefits you have seen with a full frame. Don't know if I really need one, but I kinda hate to live my life never having used one. Thanks

Re: Justify a full frame

I just switched from a crop sensor to a full frame and the best answer that I can give you is this: A 24mm lens, is truly 24mm on a full frame camera. Now that is great if you are taking pictures on the wide angle end of the spectrum, maybe not so good if you're shooting wildlife.

Quote Originally Posted by trailguy View Post
    ..and have taken some winning shots, with detail, color about as good as one could see...
    Congratulations. It sounds like you have been getting the most of out your 40D.

BUT with full-frame - it will be better. There is added clarity and beauty in the picture, the tones are smoother and better defined. It looks sort of relaxed and effortless.

Sometimes the effect is slight but usually you can tell immediately that it's full-frame. I went from a Nikon D300 (about the same age as your 40D) to a D800. I was a little skeptical at first but after 3 months I didn't want to shoot anything but full-frame.
    Charles

Nikon D800, D7200, Sony RX100m3
    Not buying any more gear this year. I hope

trailguy

I've been looking/reading about canon 6D and Nikon D600. It seems like the D600 has more to offer. I don't think I need to go to a D800.