Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Please help me choose a camera!

Hi guys,

This is my first post here, I'm about to purchase a new SLR and need some advice. I have experience with SLR's but have never owned one. I'm an amateur photographer but professional graphic designer, so will be using this for work too, but mainly as a hobby. I like shooting anything!

My local store has a deal this week where I can buy now and pay in august, which is perfect for me right now.

So here's what I've narrowed it down to (i'm in Switzerland so I didnt put the prices as they don't apply to most of you):

All for the same price:
    -Olympus E510
    -Sony A200
    -Nikon D60

Or for a bit cheaper: ($200 less)
    -Canon 400D

Or for even cheaper: ($300 less)
    -Olympus E410

And finally cheapest ($400 less then the top of the list):
    -Nikon D40

(All with their standard kit lenses)
    I would like to wait for the Olympus E420 or E520, but they aren't carrying the 420 yet and if I want this deal I have to get it this week.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for reading,

-d

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Please help me choose a camera!

All great camera's. Keep in mind that Olympus uses the 4:3 ratio and the others the more traditional 3:2.

I think the best thing for you to do is to go to that store and handle all of these camera's. Play with their menu's, settings, etc. You will probably find that some camera's will feel better in your hands, have easier to use menu's, etc. Find the one that fits you and works best for you. Buy it and don't look back.

Quote Originally Posted by Canuck935