Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Cool How can I take better NightClub Pics

Hi, I am a graphic designer who has recently become more interested in photography, I have a Nikon D300 with 18-200mm lens, 18-50mm lens and a Sigma EF-500 DG Supper Flash.

I recently took some pics for a clent in a nightclub and my pictures where a bit dull, I was using my 18-200mm lens and found it better to use the in-built flash. I tried several settings but still didn't get as good a picture as I was after! :mad2:

Does anyone have any suggestions on the settings I should use to get a good close up pic of people in this kind of environment? All help greatly appreciated.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: How can I take better NightClub Pics

Can you post some of your results.
    Just guessing but you may have to invest in a faster lens.
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Check out our D300 Pro Review! deckcadet's Avatar

Frankly, night clubs tend to be extremely poorly lit. You do not want to use your 18-200mm as it is a very slow lens. If your 18-50mm is an f/2.8 lens, it would be better, but ideally you might want to go for a fast lens like a 35mm f/2.0 or 50mm f/1.4. The larger aperture will gather more light and thus you can get more of the ambient lighting in the photo.
    Your built in flash is not a very good flash, in all honesty, it's more important for beginners or for triggering off camera remotes. If you use your EF-500 flash, you will get better results, but you should try bouncing the flash as well for better quality of light.
    Harrison