Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

HELP? What format to save photos, eg RAW, JPEG etc

I am buying a Nikon D70s this weekend, and read that you can save your photos as RAW, JPEG and then there are also different JPEG compression rates. I am completely new to digital SLRs therefore would like a format that does not require too much work, but that is still very good quality.

Am I right in thinking RAW means the camera has not done any processing itself?? So you need to do it yourself?? Whereas JPEG means the camera is doing it for you?? If anyone can shed some light and also what the difference in quality is, that would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Mark

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar

Re: HELP? What format to save photos, eg RAW, JPEG etc

Quote Originally Posted by markcoleman
    I am buying a Nikon D70s this weekend, and read that you can save your photos as RAW, JPEG and then there are also different JPEG compression rates. I am completely new to digital SLRs therefore would like a format that does not require too much work, but that is still very good quality.

Am I right in thinking RAW means the camera has not done any processing itself?? So you need to do it yourself?? Whereas JPEG means the camera is doing it for you?? If anyone can shed some light and also what the difference in quality is, that would be extremely appreciated.