Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Good Deal Or Not

I am looking to purchase my first D-SLR. I am brand new to photography and want a camera that I can take action shots from my kids basketball and baseball games as well as zoom in on professional baseball games. I saw that QVC is offering these deals...

Canon Rebel XS 10.1MP Blk Digital SLR w/18-55mm75-300mm Lens
    QVC Price: $659.96

Nikon D60 10.2MP Digital SLR Camera
    QVC Price: $638.96

I want to have a camera that I can manually focus and use the auto focus, do both of these offer that and which is the better deal?

Re: Good Deal Or Not

100-300mm is where you would want to be at those baseball games, but you may want something a little faster then that supplied lens, particularly for sports (at f5.6 is barely functional). look at the 70-200 f4/L and the 70-200 f2.8L. you spend more but you make up for it in improved image quality and lens usability. The canon uses a better performing sensor and will produce superior image quality, the Nikon gets you into a system with superior flash capabilities.