Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

First post- Hello, and a few Q's about my new Sony A-550

Hi forum.

I'm not an artistic photographer, but my work involves me taking photos. For my purposes, a compact digital cam has been more than adequate. I have had a few, but my favourite - for reasons I'll explain in a minute - is my current companion, a trusty old (5.0 MP) Kodak VS570,

I received a very nice Christmas present this year - a Sony A-550 DSLR with a zoom lens kit. This present came completely out of left-field. Obviously I'm grateful that someone would give me something like this, but I had not asked for a DSLR, and probably would never have bought one on my own. I used to enjoy taking photos for fun, but it's been years since I have. I think this camera was given to me to inspire me to take up the hobby again. And I would like to do that. We'll see. I just don't know if this camera will suit my needs.

I don't want to offend the gift-giver, so perhaps you can help me.

I am a location scout for tv/film productions. In my work, I find I regularly use a wide lens, panorama stitching, and basic video. That's why I like the Kodak. It has its limitations, of course, but it has a built-in wide angle lens, and does really good pan-stitching. It also shoots functional quality MPEG video. I work on the road, so I tend to upload my pics to my laptop and email them to my office. One distinct advantage to a compact is its size in this environment. Any DSLR is going to be big, and I really don't want to carry two cameras around on the job. But, if I can't find a way to make my DSLR work for me on the job, it'll just gather dust at home (I know it!).