Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Filters- UV vs Skylight

I am relatively new to photography and would like to hear some opinions on wether uv or skylight filters are best for keeping on a lens all the time for protection.

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: Filters- UV vs Skylight

Welcome to the Forum. This is like the Mac vs PC, Ford vs Chevy etc. debates and has been discussed many times. Some people swear by the use of a protection filter, others don't bother. I don't use them, and encourage others to not use them as well. Filters, especially cheap ones, have a tendency to cause more problems than they solve so I stay away from them. If you feel the need to have a protection filter on your lens, pony up some money and get a really good one.

Check out this thread.

Amazing discovery please read!!!
    Last edited by mjs1973; 04-19-2010 at 05:56 AM.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Skylight filters are a throwback to the fairly early days of film when the film was over-sensitive to blue light, like on hazy days. This is irrelevant on digital cameras (and on modern film).

I personally have filters on almost all my lenses but I don't even know if they are skylight or UV (UV I think).
    Charles

Nikon D800, D7200, Sony RX100m3
    Not buying any more gear this year. I hope