Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

which DSLR camera for fine art reproduction?

help
    I am an painter, not a photogragher and I need a new camera for shooting my art for reproduction into fine art prints. I know I need at least 14 megapixels, great image and color quality and something super easy to use. I pretty much use auto settings. With a $800.00 budget which camera would you recommend?
    24 megapixels would be nice for larger images, is it worth the extra$$$

PS For years I have had used 8" x 10" transparecies and scanned them , but I find I get better color from a digital camera and natural light. large format trans seems to be going the way of the dodo bird.
    see my art at www.lindapaul.com

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: which DSLR camera for fine art reproduction?

What size prints?
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Hi
    My prints are up to 36" x 48"

I am pretty sure that I want to get a 24MP SLR, so I can do the large prints, and I am looking at both the Sony α850 DSLR and the Canon EOS 5D Mark II. any preferences and advice??

Thanks in advance

Don't forget that you are going to need a quality tripod/head and a very good lens to get the most out of the 20+ MP images. - TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

Hi old clicker

Thanks for the tip on the tripod and lens. I need all the advice I can get.