Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

DSLR beginner buying XTi, need advise

Hey everyone,

So I'm a beginner to the SLR world, have only messed around with XT before for a few hours (and quite enjoyed it), and am looking to buy my own SLR. After debating between a few different cameras (mostly D40, D40x, XT, and XTi) I've decided to go with with XTi due to a couple of the features I think would be useful.

My problem is I'm not sure if the kits I've been looking at are truely good value or if the lenses they come with are appropriate. The one that I've liked the most was on ebay and came with what I believe are decent entry level lenses:
    http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...MEWA:IT&ih=023

Now I know most of the extras it comes with are junk and I'm not really concerned about all that, just want to make sure the lenses I'm getting reflect good value for what I'm paying and will be right for me.

I will be using this camera for a wide variety of things but mostly include:

Family bday/xmas/etc pics
    Lots of pics of my huskies
    vacation pics (we travel alot)
    and used to take pictures of houses (my gf is a realtor)

I like how this kit comes with a variety of lenses and i think the prime lens and the 18-55mm will be the ones i use the most, but I like the idea of having the 75-300mm for occasional use. Also I'm not sure that the wide angle lens that it comes with is any good, but i think it would be useful for certain interior shots for real estate photos, but I have a feeling it might distort them too much.