Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

I need a DSLR - I'm new, know nothing, want to get into it

I want a dSLR, I know nothing about photography, nor anything about 99% of the cameras; yet I want to get of into it and I'm going to need a good camera that I can have and still use as I get more experienced, My Price range is anywhere upto $1200(CAD) but will be able to go more if needed.

The main ones I have been looking at is the Sony a300/350, Canon XTi/XT/40D, Nikon D40.

Mainly the pictures I would want to take would consist of nature, but something I want to get into is learning to take HDR photo's, that look *good* and greyscale.

I have little experience with cameras, but want to get into it mostly so I can get a somewhat decent hobby and maybe later make money.

Thanks alot for any and all advice.

Re: I need a DSLR - I'm new, know nothing, want to get into it

Nothing against Sony, but since you seem to be wanting to get into things pretty seriously and maybe make some money some day, I would suggest either Nikon or Canon. The reason being, these two have fully developed systems that have several options at all levels - such that you can find reasonably-priced lenses and accessories to get you started, but once you decide to go towards the professional end of things, they have the equipment to fully support that as well. It's not that Sony is bad, merely that their system is not nearly as expansive as Canon or Nikon, nor as well supported by 3rd parties like Sigma.