Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Choosing DSLR between canon and nikon

Hi,

I'm waruna from sri lanka, I'm getting ready to buy my first D-SLR camera and my options are Canon 1000d, 450d and nikon's d3000 or d5000.

I know this might have been discussed over and over again , but still I think there is uniqueness in my question.

I have some experience in using dslr nikon d40 and pentax ( can't remember the model no) , but no Canon brand.

nikon d40 is great camera for its price, but I have noticed in Nikon's camera's there is little bit of pop in color, not the natural tone but little different than that, (not only in pictures taken by me, overall) but Canon pictures are more close to natural colors in our environment(feel natural). I asked this question from a professional who use Canon and said yes. Is there any truth about or, is it just me?

Secondly I read from camera labs review that Canon 1000d has relatively small view finder compared to 450d, is this really matter in taking photos,
    I don't think other extra features in 450d really matter for at this stage.

I'm hoping to buy new lenses later and upgrade my photography skills to next level, in that case canon or nikon.

Finally what do you recommend 450d and d5000 are cost extra $100 dollar than 1000d and d3000, is it work paying that extra at this stage as a beginner,

Thank you in
    Last edited by waruna; 03-21-2010 at 11:47 AM.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: Choosing DSLR between canon and nikon

If you already have a Nikon, you will already have at least one Nikon lens so if you stay with Nikon, you won't need to buy new lenses.
    As for colors, what settings are you shooting in? Are you shooting in raw format?