Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Canon RAW Images

Hi everyone. I am a newbie and recently purchased an EOS 30D. I understand the benefit of shooting in RAW format and I have been doing that but I am struggling (but getting better) with editing the images after dumping them to my PC. Do y'all use the bundled software that came with your camera, Digital Photo Professional to edit your RAW images? If so, what is your method or workflow? If not, what software do you use? Thanks for any insight provided!

Re: Canon RAW Images

I tried a RAW shot with my 30D, for the first time, yesterday, on a black capped chickadee. I have Elements 3.0 and downloaded the plugin. I won't be much help. However, I do have to day, I wasn't all that impressed. When comparing the jpg and RAW side by side, the RAW image looked much better. Although, after enough manipulation, I was able to make the jpg look exactly like the RAW image. I do have an idea that if I shoot something in direct sunlight, it will be a different story. With overcast skies, I don't think a person needs the extra couple stops of exposure latitude. I do realize that RAW is used for more than just that. I understand that you can change the WB after the photo is taken, but I still think a person could play with the color filters and obtain similar results. Once again, I'm new at this, so I'll be doing more playing around.
    Mike
    www.specialtyphotoandprinting.com
    Canon 30D X 2, Canon 100-400L, Thrift Fifty, Canon 18-55 IS 3rd generation lens plus 430 EX II flash and Better Beamer. :thumbsup:

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar