Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Better Optics or Better Camera

Ive got about $800 to spend which means I can either buy a Canon Digital Rebel XTi with a standard kit lens or a Nikon D40 with a upgraded lens. The Xti has a 4 MP advantage over the D40's 6.1 MP would it be better to choose the higher resolution over better optics or optics over resolution?

Re: Better Optics or Better Camera

I am rather new to photography, but I would go for the nicer camera. It is cheaper and easier to get a better lense later down the road when you have more money. Better than having an OK camera with A nice lense.. to upgrade you got to shell out another 800

you are better off with better glass .... you can have the best body and crap lens and the body won't help the output ....

good glass on an ok body will give you good results ...

I personally started out with an entry level body and cheap glass due to the fact of being new and not sure of what I was going to use it for ... I ended up with the setup in my signature ... I have a list of upgraded lenses I want ... but what limited me was lack of knowledge and budget constraints ... now that I have some knowledge and more $$ it is just a matter of getting the lenses I want now ...

I get good resuts with my lenses but I know that there is much better glass out there ...
    Ben

Bodies: Nikon D300 - Nikon D50

Lenses: Nikkor 50mm f1.8 D - Tamron 17mm - 50mm F2.8 - Nikon 70mm - 200mm F2.8 VR - Nikon 1.7 Teleconverter

Lighting: Nikon SB600 speedlight - AlienBees (2) B400's - Polaris Flash Meter

Stabalization: Manfrotto 190XPROB tripod - Manfrotto 3265 joystick head

Poster Formerly Known as Michael Fanelli mwfanelli's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by dklco