Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Alternative

Alternative

Hello,

This is my first time posting. Hi.

I'm looking for an alternative to a Canon Digital Rebel XT. I have a $800 spending limit on this because i'm only 16, but I love photography and want to buy a DSLR since i've been using a 35mm SLR for the past few months and it's been pretty expensive.

I Probably could get the XT, but I then wouldn't have any money for a extra Compact Flash card, or a better lens for it since I've heard the stock one on the XT isn't all that great, but good for starters.

Anybody want to help me with alternatives? Also, this is urgent because i'm going to the camera store tonight and wont be able to go back for a month or so.

Re: Alternative

I think the best deal on digital SLRs right now is the Olympus E-500 kit. I think it's selling for under $800 at big box and electronics stores. I also think that the Four Thirds system is very compelling and getting even better. On the other hand, if you've got your heart set on a Canon, then you'd better buy a Canon. Otherwise you're likely to regret buying something else. That being the case, you could see if anyone still has the orginal Canon Digital Rebel in stock. That should be much less expensive than the Rebel XT, and it's still a very capable camera.
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

Quote Originally Posted by Photo-John