Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Suggestion for a good DSLR camera

Hi,
    I am looking to buy a DSLR camera for myself. I am not a pro and have never owned a DSLR but i just like taking good shots. I am looking to buy an entry level DSLR camera - Do you guys have any suggestions for me?

I have been closing on Sony a230 but It doesn't seems to have Live view. I have been using point and shoot so far relying mostly on the LCD - I am not sure if I will be able to move to view finder for every shot so I am kinda confused on it. Does it has good results on higher ISO?

I understand lens makes alot of sense for a DSLR camera but I do not think I will be moving to expensive lenses for now. I have read dozens of reviews in last 2 weeks but have not reached any point yet.

Can you guys post your expert advice please. Some one suggested Pentax k-x is good but it seems to be out of my budget.

Thanks.

Re: Suggestion for a good DSLR camera

As a Sony owner, I am somewhat biased, but I think Sony has the best solution for the 'value' shopper who wants Image Stabilization and Live View - Sony body and (mostly) older Minolta lenses. Start with the A 330/380 (or the older A300/350, with the more traditional SLR shape, are still available) and the 18-xxmm kit lens. You have the fast focus Live View usable like a very fast P&S and, with the in-body stabilization, all lenses are stabilized. As the budget allows, you can then pick up great copies of Minolta 50mm f/1.7, a 35-70 f/4 and a 70-210 f/4 for $300 or less. I have seen nothing that can come close to the image quality and low light ability for this kind of money and there are other great values in Minolta used lenses. - TF
    -----------------