Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>
    banished

what's a good camera for $250

What's a good camera choice for under $250? I am now looking at these two:
    Olympus Stylus 1200
    Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX55K
    What's MegaPixel about, is it better to get higher ones for a good picture? Which one is a better choice???

Re: what's a good camera for $250

Well I'm no expert on digital cameras but I can tell you that the higher the mega pixels, the bigger and clearer you'll be able to make a picture. Those two you linked to are a good megapixelage(is that a word?).

Those appear to be point-and-shoot type cameras so you wont have complete control over your pictures. But for your price range I think those are probably great.

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

More megapixels are not a good thing if you want to take photos in low light.
    Or if you want to take photographs quickly.

If the size of the sensor stays the same (usually they're small in a P&S) then the more pixels you cram onto it the smaller each one is. That means it gathers less light, there's more electronic noise to deal with compared to the image, and it gets harder to get a good image as it gets darker.

If you have a 12megapixel image, it's going to take twice the time to write to a memory card than a 6megapixel image. If taking photos quickly in a burst is needed, then smaller may be better.

This has to be considered along with the improving electronics and computer power available every couple of years, the hardware gets better to be able to cope with the higher megapixel count or the smaller pixels.