Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

What should I get for a replacement camera??

First let me say that I am a novice, although I would like to learn more and get better at photography.

We recently bought our first digital camera. Since we didn't want to spend alot, we just got a Canon Sure Shot A510, which we like.

Our film camera - a point and shoot Olympus Stylus which we have had for years has been our constant companion on our many travels overseas. It has been adequate, but I find myself wishing I could do more - wider angle shots, low light shots, night shots, etc.

The film camera has ceased functioning, and the camera shop told us it would cost more to repair than to replace.

Now the dilemna - do we replace with another high-level point and shoot film camera, or a higher end digital? Something about having only digital makes me nervous. What if I take a week's worth of photos on a trip and accidentally delete them?

I've been reading a little about the Canon Rebels, but they may be too high end for me. I want something I could use on auto mode, but also do some more advanced things as I learn. I also want something not terribly heavy and bulky, as we'll be carting it around everywhere on our travels.

So my question to you experts - should we get a replacement film camera or another digital, and then what make/models would you think would be suitable for our needs?

Re: What should I get for a replacement camera??

Can't anyone help me?

Nature/Wildlife Forum Co-Moderator Loupey's Avatar