Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

what camera to buy?

Hi everyone! so i have a few questions..
    firstly, i'm new with dslr cameras, i've used my friend's canon eos 500d camera on a few occasions, and it's intrigued me to no end.
    so, i was just wondering right now, should i buy a canon eos 60d or a nikon d7000? i'm really torn between these 2 choices because i dont really know specs and i'm looking for a durable, entry to mid-range dslr to start out with.
    also, what are the factors that affect the quality of a picture? i've been seeing megapixels everywhere, would a normal photographer really notice the difference between 2 megapixels?

Re: what camera to buy?

Hey,

50D was good, meant for semi-pros. With the arrival of 60D, I'm not sure what Canon meant with it. It's got a better sensor and better ISO performance (that mostly counts), but less fps and SD cards and some other stuff removed is weird. The Vari-Angle screen; it is good but I wouldnt consider it as an important feature.

The D7000 from Nikon is a completely opposite thing (because Nikon didnt bring such stuff before). 16 megapixel new sensor with great ISO performance, full time AF in video and many other things.

Here's a post called 'Buying a DSLR, what's important, megapixels, features, brand, price, quality - http://www.the-dslr-photographer.com...lr-to-buy.html

Might help you..Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by Perry8
    Hi everyone! so i have a few questions..
    firstly, i'm new with dslr cameras, i've used my friend's canon eos 500d camera on a few occasions, and it's intrigued me to no end.