Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Smile underwater compact digital cameras

Hi,

Sorry in advance for the long thread... but I'd appreciate drawing on your knowledge & experience.

I am a novice and am looking to buy an underwater/shock resistant type of compact digital camera and have read various online reviews of the Olympus tough 8000, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS1, Canon Powershot D10 and the Pentax Optio W80.

I understand image quality from these types of cameras is not as good compared to their land-based equivalents. I want to use it it at the beach swimming/snorkeling, kayaking and may occasionally use it whilst scuba diving (at shallow depths) ...so was considering only buying one of the cameras that are rated to a depth of 10 meters.

Only the Olympus and Cannon are rated to 10m and the Canon is the bulkiest in size of them all - so do not prefer the Cannon. I have read many reviews about the poor image quality and water leakage of the Olympus (the camera shop has had a few returned and I know someone with one that had water damage repaired under warranty).

The Pentax (5m depth) doesn't have mechanical image stabilisation but has "Pixel track SR (shake reduction)" software but apparently this slows down the processing time after taking a shot to 4+ seconds. The Panasonic is only rated to 3m. All these cameras are 12mega pixels.

A camera shop I visited has shown me an Agfa Photo Optima 830UW but I haven't been able to find any user reviews for it. It's rated to 10m depth and has image stabilistaion but only has 8mp. The Agfa is also the cheapest of them all.

My main criteria are image quality and water 'proofness'.