Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Trip of a lifetime, what camera?!

Hi!

Im a student and have never really been away from home much, and this is my first post here!. I am in the process currently of arranging a trip to europe to include, Paris, Madrid, Barcelona, (maybe sevilla), Rome, Florence, Athens, Naples, Pisa, Sicily, Berlin, Amsterdam, and then back home to the UK.

I have never been away on my own, so doing all of this solo, via the train system is going to be quite interesting!

Anyhoo, i digress, I intend on making this a trip to remember and intend on taking as many pictures as i can - mostly outdoor scenery, buildings, the odd indoor gallery pics (if im allowed!), and i was wondering what sort of camera should i consider?

So i decided itd be a wise idea to post here, sounds like the right sort of place!

I have roughly £250-300 to spend, but really dont want to go over - any money not spent on camera could probably pay for an extra nights sleep in one of the many fine hostels at any one of the destinations im going to!

Any ideas?!

Thanks in advance!

Pentax Forum Moderator

Re: Trip of a lifetime, what camera?!

Hi 5...I don't know how pounds translates to US$ but I think it is somewhere around 2:1 so I'm guessing $500-$600. If that's the case, I'd look at the Sony or Kodak point and shoots for versatility. If you want to go with a DSLR, the Nikon D50 or the Pentax *ist DL are good easy to use cameras and come with good lenses for novices.