Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Sports Photography

i am a PE teacher and am looking to purchase a camera specifically for sports photos, my budget would be around £350, what type, model and make of camera would i be best getting for best results?
    any help welcome
    cheers
    scott

Re: Sports Photography

That's a decent budget - enough to invest in an inexpensive or used digital SLR. Sports is one of the more demanding subjects and really benefits from better camera equipment. I'd recommend looking at entry-level digital SLR kits from Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Olympus and Sony. You won't get a lot for the amount of money you have now. However, investing in a digital SLR now is better for the long-term. Digital SLRs have better auto focus, faster burst rates, and minimal shutter-lag - all important for action photography. What you won't be able to get is a long telephoto lens, so you'll have to stay close for photos. Here's a link to our digital SLR reviews:

Digital SLR User Reviews >>

You might also want to post on our Sports Photography forum and see what the guys there have to say.

I'm sure I didn't really answer your question completely and you'll have more questions. Take a look at those links and then post again and we'll give you some more direction
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!