Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Sony H50 vs. Nikon P80...help me please

Hi everyone. I am new to digital photography and I'm really excited about getting started and taking some photos. I have been looking around these two cameras seem to be the best for me...as my price range is probably at max...400 - 450 dollars. I'll provide a link to each camera so you can see the specs...which one do you think is best?

Thanks!

Sony

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...52921665309451

Nikon

http://www.nikonusa.com/Find-Your-Ni...PIX%20P80.html

Re: Sony H50 vs. Nikon P80...help me please

Hi,
    I just bought a camera, and these exact models were also my finalists. It was a tough call, especially since I am also new to photography, and since both these cameras are so new, it's hard to find reviews. In my end decision, I went with the Nikon.

If you haven't seen it already, here's a side-by-side comparison.

I've only had it for a week, but so far, I really like the Nikon. I has a nicer feel in the hand, and is lighter than the Sony. (But everyone's hands are different; be sure you physically handle both before you decide.)

The P80 also has a longer zoom (18x vs. 15x), and options for faster continuous shooting (up to 13 frames per sec, though only at 3mp), both of which are important to me. The screen is beautiful, and the menu is simple and intuitive, but still has plenty of options.