Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Software for Digital Images to Line Drawings

I am a watercolor painter and want to take a digital image into a software program that will find the outline edges or make a photocopy and print the image in an 11 x 15 or 16 x 20 size black and white with good defined edges, and tile the image so it can be printed on standard size paper so I can tape the paper together prior to transferring the image to my canvas or watercolor paper. Does anyone know of a good software program that will do this.

I have used Microsoft Picture It with some success and I have Adobe Photoshop Elements 2 but I haven't been as successful with this program.
    Thanks from a new member and sorry if this has been answered numerous times before. ns

Re: Software for Digital Images to Line Drawings

This too me about 45 seconds in photoshop if this is what you're looking for. From the filter menu I chose - stylize - glowing edges, then did an inverse, then increased the contrast and converted to grey scale. I don't know if elements has glowing edges or not. If not it may have something similar.

Hope this helps.

Quote Originally Posted by Arctirus
    This too me about 45 seconds in photoshop if this is what you're looking for. From the filter menu I chose - stylize - glowing edges, then did an inverse, then increased the contrast and converted to grey scale. I don't know if elements has glowing edges or not. If not it may have something similar.

Hope this helps.
    Thanks so much.