Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

300D vs. 10D (reply from old board thread)

Hi all, I'm a newbie here... please be gentle! ;-)
    I just finished reading this thread from your old board: http://forums.consumerreview.com/crf...TIh.0@.efe2906
    All of the points made in the thread are valid points, and I am glad I found the thread, as I am wrestling with the same decision right now. Yeah, $500 more dollars isn't ideal, but my biggest concern is with the action photography. Darkman said "If you do any action photography, this isn't the camera for you." I believe he was refering to the 300D. Well, I do a TON of action photography. I photograph soccer & track events quite a bit. So, does it really make that much difference? The $500 aside, I want to get the camera that will do the sports photography the best. I have a Canon Rebel G, two Canon lenses, and have used the D30 and D60 before (not too extensively, but enough to know I like them!) which is why I want to buy a Canon. I don't have any room in my budget for the 1D, so the 10D has to be my upward limit.

Any help and/or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

What does this button do? Ooops. JDub's Avatar
    I think the problem that some people have had on the 300D is the sports mode that locks in the AI-Servo stuff. I've seen some amazing action shots taken with the 300D, so I would disagree. I probably won't be using the sports mode, likely just shoot in manual.