Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

New to Photography - Camera help please.

Hi Guys,
    :idea:
    In Easter I am going to Malaysia with my University andI am currently looking for a digital SLR camera to buy for the trip. I have no experience in photography and all this camera talk is very confusing as there seem to be many split reviews about alot of cameras.
    I am going to be in Malaysia for 2 weeks on the field trip then travelling around with friends for 2 weeks probably visiting Thailand and maybe some other places. On the field trip my group will be researching 2 species of spiders although this is not the main reason for me wanting to get a camera, it would be nice to get some good photo's of them.

So could you help reccomend me a decent camera to start with, also I am worried about the humidity/rain whilst out there although a guy in Jessops shop said that his colleague had taken one of the cannon models as it was in a storm in the rainforest and was fine.

I was looking at the Fujifilm Finepix HS10 as I thought it looked good but then I don't know what I'm talking about really, I found the panorama shooting (I think it's called that) attractive but on reading some reviews that parts of the pictures my be blured so am not really sure, Also I do not think you are able to change the lense which kind of put me off as I think it would be a nice option if i really got into photography

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Last edited by PlumpSamurai; 11-21-2010 at 05:39 AM.

Re: New to Photography - Camera help please.

To be accurate, you are not talking about a DSLR, but about a DSLR-Like camera.