Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Thread: New Guy

New Guy

Hello all, I'm not new to taking pictures (if that what I can call it) But I am new to the SLR cameras. Up until today I had really just used a point and shoot camera to take pictures of my hobby. I collect watches and love taking Macro shots. The problem is I really suck at it. So I received a gift from my lovely wife a Olympus 510 SLR camera for my birthday. Problem is I have found out quickly that.....I'm in really deep trouble. I can't use the same techniques(if you can call it that) to take pictures. Sooooooo I NEED HELP!!! First I am baffled at the settings I need. Everything I have tried leaves me depressed. I have a better camera but worse pics. Suggestions?

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: New Guy

Welcome to the forums.
    You will be able to get better macro shots with your dslr but it will take some learning and probably a macro lense or some extension tubes.
    The best thing to do for people here to help you would be to post a shot or two and we could probably guide you in what you'll need to learn and/or do.
    Good luck!
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

You need to pay much more attention, and be much more conscious of your metering, pay more attention to your focus type, and focus point, and be more familiar with your lens. Once you are, you probably won't want to touch your old point and shoot ever again ;)