Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

New camera for beginner

Hello,

I'm a beginner looking to buy his first DSL camera and was wondering which camera you guys would suggest? The reason I'm buying this camera is for a couple reasons,

I want to take a College course this winter to learn more about DSL digital cameras and how to use them, I'm taking this course because there is room for advancement with my job in Marketing and I would be more likely to get this job if I had some background in photography. I have used the camera at work quite a bit and I am familiar with some of the features.

Now, what I am looking to use this camera for is a lot of outdoor photos, youth events, wildlife etc.. I want something that is at least weather resistant as I will be using the camera in dusty and sometimes wet conditions.

I am looking to spend up to $800. I understand that Pentax is the only company that makes weather resistant camera. Is this correct?

Thanks for the help!:thumbsup:

Re: New camera for beginner

Photography is not easy, particularly wildlife, don't expect a stroll in the park, if you want to learn it you need to immerse yourself, practice, study, practice, study, rinse, repeat.