Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Need Suggestions on Fujifilm S2500HD

I am a beginner and i will be using the camera for casual photography. I came across the Fujifilm S2500HD and it looks real good and very affordable ($250). I read a few good reviews on it. Should i go ahead and buy it or are there any other better models in the same price range?

You can check out the specification of the camera here - http://www.fujifilm.com/products/dig...ons/index.html

Re: Need Suggestions on Fujifilm S2500HD

I have the S1000, which is an older version of the S2500.

Overall, I like mine. It takes good pictures, not as good as my Nikon D40, but not bad. I like that you can turn off the flash by simply closing it, versus having to change a setting on many cameras. It's reasonably good at taking pictures without the flash in normal indoor light, and it's great out in the sun.

The S1000 has a 12x zoom, which I think is fine, the S2500 has 18x, which is even better. Very handy as an all-around camera. Even better, this one has image stabilization, which mine does not. This helps get clearer pictures at high zoom.

The biggest complaint I have with the S1000 is the slow shutter lag. When you press the button, there is quite a delay before the picture is taken, several seconds. This makes it hard to get action shots. For things that aren't moving, it's fine, but takes getting used to. Not sure if the S2500 is any better. I've had a few Fujifilms in my life (the last was the 4900), and they were always a bit laggy. This would not be a camera for sports or fast action photography, unless they have really improved the shutter lag.