Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Need advice on a setup for nightlife/rave photograpyhy

Hello everybody. I am an intermediate photographer. I used to shoot film in high school and I can get some decent pix with my point-n-shoot but I've been wanting to buy a DSLR for the longest time. My financial situation is finally allowing me to buy one. So I need your help.

My budget for the body and beginning lens is $1200. I am going to buy the flash later and willing to spend around $300 on that.

I was thinking about getting a Nikon D90 and either this 50mm 1.8 or this 28mm 2.8.

My first film SLR was a Nikon and I loved it. I've also shot with a few Nikon DSLRs and I like them so I think I want to stick with Nikon.

Let me know what you think about the choices. Keep in mind, I will be shooting clubs and raves which means night portraits and a lot of movement, crazy lighting conditions, etc.

Please please please feel free to suggest other cameras (Nikon), lenses, and strobes too. I don't know ANYTHING about digital flashes/strobes so any advice on that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Re: Need advice on a setup for nightlife/rave photograpyhy