Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Question Need advice on P&S, ZR1/ZS5, or different brand?

Hello there, I have searched the forums at length and read enough reviews to leave my head spinning to find the best P&S for my needs. I apologize in advance that this may be a very long post but I want to explain my situation clearly.

I currently have a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50 and although I like the camera very much, I really need something to stick in my pocket or purse so I can always have it on me... the FZ50 obviously will not work for that. I am NOT a professional but still like to take many photos. My main requirements are Photo Quality, Zoom, and Speed. I find the FZ50 slow and sometimes the photos have a lot of noise, but otherwise the zoom is great as well as photo quality for the most part. I know of course I will not get all I want in a P&S but need to determine how much quality I should expect to sacrifice.

After reading many reviews I decided on the Panasonic Lumix ZR1- I purchased it and immediately was unhappy with the results. I take a lot of nature photos and found that I was getting completely washed out skies. Even when inside, the light through the windows would be completely white. It would happen on one photo then not the next... and my sister's much cheaper Sony did much better with light (although her photo quality was fuzzy compared to the lumix). We could change the exposure but then the rest of the photo was dark. Here are a few examples:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...ng2010b291.jpg
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...ng2010b274.jpg