Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Help! Need an Action P&S

Even though I have been a photographer for several years and can answer most questions about SLRs I know nothing about the different point and shoot cameras. My son recently ask me for advice about what camera to buy and I was at a total lose. So I'm turning to my PR friends for some suggestions. First of all Sam is a cowboy, yes literally a cowboy. He and his wife do a lot of roping and riding in West Texas. They want a camera that can keep up with their activities but is still small enough for a pocket or to slip in their saddle bag. They are very dissatisfied with their current camera because of shutter lag and process time. They feel they are missing a lot of shots because of these two factors. So my question to you is what would be a good choice of camera for them and their active lifestyle. A small fast camera with enough zoom range to capture action or wildlife from a little distance on horseback. Oh yes they have a very active 3 year old as well that is always on the go chasing one of his four dogs. Need your help and would appreciate your suggestions.
    Don't forget about the Gallery. Are your photos there??

Nikon Samurai #13

"A photographer is known by what he shows not by what he throws. The best photographers have the biggest trash cans." Quote from Nikon School sometime in the early 1970's.

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Re: Help! Need an Action P&S

I'm not sure there is anything that will copy with all they want.

If it's in the saddlebag that'll be dusty, and it was dust that killed my G9 within a year.