Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Thread: Night Settings

Lightbulb Night Settings

I am pretty new at this whole digital camera stuff. I take gorgous photos during the day but at night I dont know if its the camera or me. I was wondering if someone out there might be able to help me with some settings for taking night shots.

I am using the Minolta Dimage Z1 and I cant seem to take non-blurry pictures at night. On a recent trip to seattle I went to the space needle and tried to take some picturse of the city at night.i was unable to get even 1 picture that was clear. Even holding the camera as steady as I could and bracing in on the rail. It seems to be taking a long time to process the picture. what I mean by this is that when it is set yo auto and it half-click to focus it works fine, but when I fully press the button to take the picture I believe the shutter is staying open too long. Even with my camera on a tripod the other night watching the Eclispe I could not get a good picture. Is there anyone that could help me maybe with some settings or just some general know how?

Re: Night Settings

NIght shots without flash are by definition going to be long exposure shots. So you absolutely must use something to perfectly stabilize the camera...most people use a tripod, but I've used a bridge, a bench, a post ... anything that I can set the camera on so that it doesn't move.