Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Caught in the middle

Hey all, im just starting out and want to make the switch from Digicam to a DSLR. I've narrowed it down to 3 cameras but have no idea which one to get. The Sony a200, Nikon D40X and the front runner, Canon EOS 400D. I was wondering if there are any things that i should know regarding these cameras and suggestions would be great. Thanks!
    (I will be using it mostly for architectural, nature, sports and low lighting shots. not sure if this will effect the choice)

Re: Caught in the middle

Of course I would say the Canon. But that's only because my first SLR happened to be a Canon (EOS A2) and I stuck with their system ever since. I don't (seriously) believe it to be blasphemy to say that Nikon makes a great camera. In fact, their bodies actually fit my hands better than any other camera I've used. I think you could take the Pepsi challenge these days with any equipment manufacturer and not really see that much difference. That being said, Canon's supertele lenses seem to be highly regarded (look at the sidelines at football games), and Nikon's wide angle lenses have an excellent reputation. I believe (in my experience) that Canon's L series zoom lenses are better than Nikon's zooms, but it probably is just a bit of inherent bias on my part. Sony makes some pretty techy stuff but I haven't always heard of Minolta's lenses being show stoppers. There is a reason Nikon and Canon are the big two. One thing is certain however: Nikon's flash system kills Canon's.