Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

considering digital-

i am an amateur photographer and have shot slides for 40 years. largely ektachrome, epr and epp. using mainly agfa and konica 35mm camera's [with 50mm, 80-200mm, and 500mm mirror lenses]. i love the beauty of slides. recently i have taken my favorites, scanned them with a nikon ls-40 in ps 6.0 and burned them to cd-r's. as a whole, the scans are very good and i will be having 4x6 prints made of them and placed in an album. currently, i am planning on just taking prints from now on as the job of scanning/manipulating slides to go to print is too time consuming. after viewing the prints made from my slides, i find i am not satisfied with the "quality" when i do use print film [ even in using kodak royal gold 100] as compared to my prints from slides. i'll be using some fuji superia reala 100 soon and see how it compares. question-
    1- i know nothing about digital camera's. but are there digital camera's that would produce prints close to the "quality" i desire? if so, give me the models and price range.
    2- i would want something that has a fairly large optical zoom, one my wife could operate, not too large, and i don't know what else [i'm open for suggestions on megapixels and anything else].
    3- are there websites that owners give their reviews on different models/makes?
    4- also, on this site is their a "printer friendly" way to print various threads and printing that only?
    5- please advise- thank you.

tramp

Liz

Smile Good decision Tramp........

Hi Tramp