Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

CSC: New Standard?

I am far from being an expert, but it seems to me that CSC cameras are becoming the latest trend. A camera with interchangeable lenses and no mirror appears to have significant advantages over DSLR cameras, cost being a major factor. One problem I see, at least for me, is that most if not all current offerings do not have a view finder. I just don't understand the trend toward no view finders. If I want a good close view with low chance of blur, holding a camera at arms length to focus with an LCD panel seems idiotic. But, as I said I am no expert.

I would appreciate a real expert discussing the pros and cons of CSC cameras and maybe a recommendation for the current offerings. (I am not interested in any camera without a view finder).

Thanks, Jim

Re: CSC: New Standard?

I think one reason for the trend is that many have figured out how to use the rear LCD in ways other than holding it at arms length. - Terry
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

Re: CSC: New Standard?