Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Camera for artist

Hi I am a decorative artist and need to upgrade my current Canon Powershot SD630 to something that is better at taking interior and low light shots. I have a hard time getting the detail of decorative wall finishes I have done. I would also be using the camera for video and would like to have the burst mode because I have some eagles on my property and want to get some better shots of them. I don't want to pay more than $400, which translates to $400 regular price, but will shop for much lower price.

Thanks for any help. Happy Easter!

Re: Camera for artist

Welcome to the site, katers! I hope we can help you find a camera that you'll be happy with.

Any chance you can show us a sample of the kind of problems you're having photographing your art with the SD630? I'd like to make sure we can't help you with your technique before we start recommending new cameras. I mean, I'm all for new cameras. But if it's a lighting or technique problem, then a new camera probably won't solve the problem.

For wildlife photos, the most important thing is a long lens. You can get compact digital cameras now with as much as 30x optical zoom. That might be your best bet. I do believe they're in your price range, too. Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Casio, Panasonic, Kodak, Pentax and Fujifilm all make them.

Please post a sample of your art so we have a better idea of what your problem is. In the meantime, here are a couple of superzoom camera links to give you an idea of what a has to offer:
    Fujifilm Finepix HS10 Superzoom Camera At PMA
    Kodak EasyShare Z980 Pro Review