Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

beginner needs help

Hi
    I am new to cameras. I am often out taking photos of people at events (dinners, golfing stuff). I currently use the pentax optio 60. It's crap. the camera never is on the right setting and I dont know how to get it on the right setting and when i put it on automatic setting all of my photos look bad. I need to find a camera that is simple to understand and use, has a lot of mp (6 plus) and can get great lighting and stuff. It must produce crisp photos for online and print use. It must be able to take photos fast as well!
    any ideas?
    thanks.

Pentax Forum Moderator

Re: beginner needs help

Hello Pilgrim and Welcome to PR. I doubt if I'm going to help you much. This is a tough question to answer without knowing a little bit more of your needs and how much you have to spend. Some questions that will help us are:
    1. How much do you have to spend?
    2. Do you want to stay with a point and shoot or do you want to switch to a SLR (digital or film)?
    3. How much of a learning curve are you willing to put into a new camera?
    4. How much experience do you have with cameras.
    Sounds to me like you are shooting in both bright light and low light. A point and shoot can work in these situations, but are limited. With SLR's your going to have to invest in some lenses, but will give you the greatest versatility.
    All of that being said, maybe you can elaborate a little more on your needs and $$$.
    Ken
    Ken

Click these links for the K5 Review Page and the K7 Review Page
    Remember, Reviews help keep our site free!!!