Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Basic ISO and other setting guidelines

I am new to DSLRs and just got a Canon XTI with a a Canon EFS 18-55mm lens.

1. When outside in sunny conditions, I have my xti ISO set to 100 or 200 though I am not sure what to set my exposure, aperture and focal length to.

2. When it is overcast, I am using an a range of 400-800, what about the exposure, aperture and focal length?

3. When shooting people at night, I am using 800, what about other settings?

Thanks!

Re: Basic ISO and other setting guidelines

Good question. However the reply could fill a book. Let me just say what I do:

1. When outside in sunny conditions, I usually have the camera set to 400 ISO. If the camera is on a tripod I set the ISO to the lowest possible (100 or 200 ISO).

The focal legth depends on the subject:

18mm = Scenes when I want to "get it all in" or "tell a story". Great for tourism
    24mm = When doing pictures of people in the street or at parties and I want to include a group. My favourite shooting distance is about 6 feet
    35mm = Pictures of people when is isolate just a couple, still at 6 feet. I also use this focal length for buildings when I don't want them to look distorted by a wide-angle (problem of the 18mm setting)
    55mm = Pictures of a single person, waist-up. Picking out details in a landscape

I like to have the aperture between f5.6 and f11 to get depth of field. I usually use Program mode so thecamera sets the shutter speed (high) as necessary

2. When it is overcast, I am using an a range of 400-800, what about the exposure, aperture and focal length?