Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Assistance with new Camera

I'm new to digital cameras and with asking for assistance from stores they always point you to the most expensive camera or something with the highest MP or optical zoom or this or that, and that doesn't do anything except turn me away. I talked to a friend briefly and he told me that none of this matters, so I'm completely stumped.

Price Range: Nothing over 220
    Primary Use: Taking pictures of scorpions & snakes.
    Secondary Use: Vacation in London(July)
    Options: I would prefer a rechargeable battery, faster picture speed, easy to use.

I'm just interested in purchasing a camera and not planning on doing any lenses and sensors or what not because I would rather not get into all of the technical things. I will post a few pictures of some of the other people that have taken pictures and how they've came out so maybe it will help with the suggestions. I've tried to list everything I can possibly think but I may of forgotten something, so please if you need to ask anything to help me choose what digital camera will fit me the best please post as I've set it to automatically notify me.

Re: Assistance with new Camera

Try a Canon Elph, or an Olympus tough. There are a lot of good cameras available in your price range and they are all very easy with fast image cycle rate. So, its going to be impossible to land on one specific best answer for you.

Quote Originally Posted by Anbesol