Camera Dealer Feedback Forum

This forum is moderated by, Grandpaw.

Angry Broadway Photo Scam

I am new to digital photography and was trying to find the best price for a Nikon D40. I placed an order for $407 after two phone calls to Broadway Photo. The first time I was told I need to buy a charger. The second time I was told the camera comes with accessories. After placing the order I was emailed to call to expedite the overnight delivery otherwise it could take 72 hrs to process the order, I am told the usual battery story of the camera comes with 30 min. battery, I foolishly agrea to second battery. After calling Nikon I call back Broadway and I am told why are you calling Nikon USA. Another call to Nikon and a web search and I figure out the camera is an import. I now call back Broadway and read them the riot act. Now they will sell me a USA model for circuit city price. I say no and they drop the price to $499 and include overnight delivery. So at this point I say ok. After this I find out their reputation and call to cancel. I am told it is too late my order is in the warehouse. So I call my credit card Company to refuse the charge. I am told it is just comming thru and it can be rejected.I was charged $539 on my card. I notify UPS to refuse shipment and breath a sigh of relief. Two calls to my card Company confirm the charge was rejected. Two days later I find out the charge is on my credit card and I have to go thru a written process to get the charge off. I find out by the tracking No. that Broadway recieved back the camera and signed for it. Every time I email Broadway I am told the package was shipped. I have filed a complaint with the New York BBB. On Monday I will be calling Broadway again. Any suggestions will be apprciated. I don't have alot of money. Why is this comapny allowed to stay in business???
    Last edited by kyla sandberg; 08-04-2007 at 02:12 PM.

Re: Broadway Photo Scam

Where are they located? Contact info just so we can be aware.