Camera Dealer Feedback Forum

This forum is moderated by, Grandpaw.
    Liz

Thumbs down BadgerGraphics - Worst customer service award!

I purchased a Canon 24-105 IS lens from BadgerGraphic in Wisconsin. The box arrived damaged - the Canon box was also damaged - bent in 2 places with a fold across one side. I tried out the lens, but couldn't determine if the IS was working as the few images I shot were all soft and I couldn't "hear" the IS working. I'm not a pro, and the only IS I've ever used was the 28-135 a few years ago. With that lens, I could definitely tell when the IS was on as it makes a certain quiet "whir" when you press the shutter button 1/2 way down. At any rate, I called Badger and explained the damaged boxes to them.

Their initial response was "that's between you and UPS." I refuted that by explaining that the shipper is responsible and not the receiver. The manager called me back and agreed. He told me to try out the lens and call back in a few days. I told him I couldn't afford to keep this money on my credit card, and wanted to return the lens. He argued with me for a while. I finally said "please call UPS now. I don't want to keep this lens because I can't determine if there is damage inside." He finally agreed to call them. However, he would not tell me if I would get credit for the lens. He said I would have to "wait and see" and when they get a check from UPS, I will get one.

I called UPS to confirm Badger had called. I also explained to UPS that this lens has some intricate parts and they may not be able to "see" the damage outwardly. They said they would assess it - and finally picked it up. They said they would send the lens back to Badger regardless of the outcome, but I would have to call Badger to find out the status, etc.