ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Use LCD flat screen?

Hi to all from a newbie here. I've had a Iiyana 19" CRT for a number of years and am pretty happy with it. However, I'm about to move to Mexico, and would rather not truck it down with me. Are there LCD flat-screens which are suitable for use in PhotoShop/ PaintShop Pro? I've always heard that CRTs are more accurate than flat screens.

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Of course...

Kevin,

This whole discussion was recently held somewhere around here, so you might want to do a forum search .

I've been a CRT man for many years (even with the onlsaught of cheaper and cheaper LCD models), but when I decided to get a new main monitor recently, I thought I'd finally give flat screen a try.

Well, I got a 19" Samsung SyncMaster, and so far I love it. It seems quite a bit brighter than the CRT, but I know some of that was because the old monitor was, well OLD and most certainly dimmed over the years.

Bottom line is I do a lot of critical photoshop work, and am currently editing and printing photos for an upcoming exhibition, and the LCD has been fine to work with. Taking into account the brightness of the screen, my prints are coming very close to matching what I see on the monitor (of course close attention to color profiling is crucial too).

I haven't really compared brands or anything, but I would probably stick with name brand monitors that have a track record of high quality...
    "Riding along on a carousel...tryin' to catch up to you..."

-Steve
    Studio & Lighting - Photography As Art Forum Moderator

Running the Photo Asylum, Asylum Steve's blogged brain pipes...
    www.stevenpaulhlavac.com
    www.photoasylum.com