ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

A Thread with an Edge

A sharp edge that is. As many of you know by now my son Sam is a blacksmith and farrier. But he is also a knife maker. As such he needs photos of some of his product for a web page and knife shows. I have never done product photography before and am looking for help and suggestions. If you are experienced in this area I would appreciate your input or if you know of sites on the Internet where I might get some help I would also like to know about them. Here are a few of the first shots that I attempted of his knives. They are far from perfect and I post them for your ideas and suggestions.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails A Thread with an Edge-13-2-12x8-640b.jpg   A Thread with an Edge-15-2-12x8-640b.jpg   A Thread with an Edge-23-2-12x8-640b.jpg   A Thread with an Edge-dsc_6452-3-12x8-640b.jpg   A Thread with an Edge-dsc_6459-3-12x8-640b.jpg  

Don't forget about the Gallery. Are your photos there??

Nikon Samurai #13

"A photographer is known by what he shows not by what he throws. The best photographers have the biggest trash cans." Quote from Nikon School sometime in the early 1970's.

Re: A Thread with an Edge

Lookin good OT I've been collecting knives for a long time.. Here's a couple of my favorite knife photographers whose sites you might want to check out to get some ideas. Hope these help

Bob Glassman & Son

Sharp By Coop
    Aaron Lehoux * flickr
    Please do not edit my photos, thank you.

I like the first one the best OT. If you can get the knives to set up and get some separation from the background I think it shows off the knife better.
    Troy

www.troybates.com