ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Finally some play time

I've been a professional photographer for a year now. Man, has time flown by quickly. When I was layed off from my Creative Director at a now defunct sign company I jumped in with both feet. I've shot everything from youth sports, professional sports, World Cup events, family portraits, custom cabinets, models, athletes and weddings (lots and lots of weddings). Since it is now the slow season for weddings in Las Vegas I've been able to pla around a bit in the past few days.

On Friday I went to Nellis Air Base and hung out on the end of the runway with a bunch of Air Show photographers from around the nation. I even had time to do some post processing before I was off to shoot my kid's elementary school Fall Festival portraits that evening. A full day of shooting for fun (no profit).

On Saturday I shot only two weddings (I was scheduled for a third but the groom decided that he needed a last little fling and got caught the night before the big day). Oops!!!

I also have had the chance to go through my archives and play around with my new NIK software on a portrait of my oldest daughter (from back in January of February).

I have a ton to learn still and am amazed how good some of the photographers I see around are. Maybe someday I'll get it.

Some low points: